Satellites can help reduce methane emissions

On November the 8th 2022, Ilse Aben will present case studies of e.g.
coal mines, oil & gas, and landfills during the COP 27 in Sharm el-Sheik.

The Global Methane Hub, SRON and GHGSat Launch World-first Project to Map Super-Emitting Landfills Globally

  • New initiative to characterize, study and monitor landfills, globally, working with NGOs and local partners on mitigation
  • Team presents map at COP27 highlighting 100+ methane-emitting landfills

Science for Climate Action

Dutch Satellite Innovations for Supporting Climate Action

8 November 2022, 9:30 – 11:00 am
BENELUX-EIB Pavilion at COP27, Sharm El-Sheikh

logo-clear-air

This event seeks to inspire with the practical possibilities to monitor emissions with satellites and help realizing climate policy under the Paris Agreement. It is organized by Clear Air, a consortium of the Dutch research and technology organizations. The event is held at the Benelux/EIB pavilion of the COP27 in Sharm El-Sheikh. Those who attend the COP27 can register to attend the event in person, and others can you the live stream of EIB.

Agenda

9.30 EET, 8:30 am CET
Clear Air: Dutch Satellite Innovations to Support Climate Action and Monitor Emissions (Anton Leemhuis, Chairman of the Clear Air consortium/ TNO) (followed by Q&A)

 

10:00 EET, 9 am CET
How satellites can help reduce methane emissions. Case Studies of e.g. coal mines, oil & gas, and landfills (Ilse Aben, SRON Netherlands Institute for Space Research/ Earth Sciences Vrije Universiteit, Amsterdam) (followed by Q&A).

 

11.30 EET, 10:30 am CET
How can Satellite Monitoring be used in Emission Inventories and Support the Realization of Climate Policy under Paris Agreement?(Hugo Denier van der Gon, TNO Netherlands Organization for Applied Scientific Research) (followed by Q&A).

Panel Discussion ‘Linking Policy and Science through Satellites’

8 November 2022, 14:00 – 15:10 am
The “Science For Climate Action” Pavilion at COP27, Sharm El-Sheikh

sron-image-satelite

Prof. Ilse Aben will speak in the panel Linking Policy and Science through Satellites which will take place on 8th of November, between 14:00 and 15:10, in the “Science For Climate Action” Pavilion, held jointly between the IPCC, WMO and MERI Foundation, and that will be broadcast via streaming, worldwide.

About SRON Earth

SRON is the Dutch national institute for space research. Its Earth Observation program develops and uses space missions to study the atmosphere. This provides insights into greenhouse gas emissions and the effects of aerosols on climate and air quality. We create key technology and design and produce instruments in collaboration with other scientific institutes and space industry. We develop algorithms and make the data usable for scientific application.

Contact SRON Earth

Ilse Aben

E.A.A.Aben@sron.nl

Aaldert van Amerongen

A.H.van.Amerongen@sron.nl